Skipped parts

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
GroVont trilogy volume 1.
Publisher:
Sourcebooks Landmark,
Pub. Date:
[2010]
Language:
English
Description
An amusing new novel by the author of "Social Blunders". It's 1963 and 13-year-old Sam Callahan and his tart-tongued, divorced, misbehaving mother, Lydia, must cope as best they can, after they are banished to the hick town of GroVont, Wyoming, by Lydia's Southern gentleman father. "Funny, shocking, downright revolting, and occasionally sad".--"Los Angeles Times Book Review".
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781402241710
9781402257070
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf5a9e13f-8cba-f48e-4441-05321b08582c
Grouping Titleskipped parts
Grouping Authorsandlin tim
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-01-20 01:38:42AM
Last Indexed2020-01-20 04:02:41AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorTim Sandlin
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayTim Sandlin
detailed_location_gunnisonldGunnison Fiction
display_description"Skipped Parts is somewhere between The Catcher in the Rye and Even Cowgirls Get the Blues."-Los Angeles Times Book Review

The novel that inspired the movie starring Mischa Barton and Drew Barrymore

Banished to the hinterlands of Wyoming, rebellious Lydia Callahan and her thirteen-year-old son Sam have no choice but to cope. But while Lydia drinks and talks to the moose head on the wall, Sam finds a friend in local girl Maurey Pierce.

Sam and Maurey set out to discover for themselves what happens in the "skipped parts" of the novels they read – between the first kiss and the next morning. With Lydia's support the two teens set out on their sexual exploration, and deal with its consequences.

One of the wildest, raunchiest, most heartfelt coming-of-age novels of the past thirty years, Skipped Parts puts Tim Sandlin in the upper echelon of contemporary comic novelists.

This contemporary novel is raunchy, funny, and full of heart, perfect for fans of Nick Hornby, Jack Kerouac, Tom Robbins, Larry McMurtry, Joseph Heller, John Irving, Kurt Vonnegut, Carl Hiaasen.

Other books in Tim Sandlin's GroVant Trilogy:
Skipped Parts, Book 1
Sorrow Floats, Book 2
Social Blunders, Book 3
Lydia, Book 4

What readers are saying about Skipped Parts:

"deals with coming of age in a humorous and often poignant way"

"Plot twists that would make J.K. Rowling jealous, humor, beautifully drawn characters, a great sense for the detail of the West"

"sometimes heartwarming, often heartbreaking"

"poignant, FUNNY, SHOCKING, and even heartbreaking"

"the deep humor comes from the extraordinary characters"

"funny, sad, and full of heart"

What reviewers are saying about Skipped Parts:

"DAZZLING...moving...Sam's carapace is humor...He thinks like Holden Caulfield and has Joseph Heller's take on despair. His Walter Mitty–like fantasies are tiny comic gems... In the end you'll find yourself rooting for Sam." -New York Times Book Review

"A lighthearted, amusing, and tender story of preteen wisdom, adult immaturity, and the fine line between...An offbeat, engaging novel." -Publisher's Weekly

"This witty, often touching portrayal of a dirt-street-wise youth's coming-of-age sparkles with intelligence." -Booklist

"Thoughtful, surprising, and delightful entertainment." -St. Louis Post-Dispatch

What everyone is saying about Tim Sandlin:

"Tim Sandlin's stuff is as tight and funny as anyone doing this comedy novel thing." -Christopher Moore

"His prose, his characters, all amazing."

"A story of grand faux pas and dazzling dysfunction...a wildly satirical look at the absurdities of modern life." -The New York Times Book Review

format_category_gunnisonldBooks
format_gunnisonldBook
idf5a9e13f-8cba-f48e-4441-05321b08582c
isbn9781402241710
9781402257070
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b31969434.i72298662Gunnison FictionSandlin1falsefalseDue Feb 11, 2020gugfi
hoopla:MWT11433460Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11433460Available Online
overdrive:0656ee39-2d5b-44db-8f63-c5d3c2f669e8-2Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_gunnisonldJuvenile Biography
last_indexed2020-01-20T11:02:41.771Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_gunnisonldSandlin
owning_library_gunnisonldGunnison Public Library
owning_location_gunnisonldGunnison Public Library
primary_isbn9781402241710
publishDate2010
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b31969434BookBooksEnglishSourcebooks Landmark, [2010]401 pages ; 21 cm
hoopla:MWT11433460eBookeBookEnglishSourcebooks Inc, 2010.1 online resource
overdrive:0656ee39-2d5b-44db-8f63-c5d3c2f669e8eBookeBookEnglishSourcebooks2010
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_gunnisonld
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b31969434.i72298662Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
seriesGroVont trilogy
series_with_volumeGroVont trilogy|1
subject_facetAdolescence -- Fiction
Bildungsromans
City and town life -- Wyoming -- Fiction
Divorced mothers -- Fiction
Electronic books
Humorous fiction
Maturation (Psychology) -- Fiction
Mothers and sons -- Fiction
Teenage boys -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
Teenagers -- Sexual behavior -- Fiction
title_displaySkipped parts
title_fullSkipped Parts
Skipped parts / Tim Sandlin
Skipped parts [electronic resource] / Tim Sandlin
title_shortSkipped parts
topic_facetAdolescence
City and town life
Divorced mothers
Electronic books
Fiction
Humor (Fiction)
Literature
Maturation (Psychology)
Mothers and sons
Sexual behavior
Teenage boys
Teenage girls
Teenagers