Drop dead on recall

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Midnight Ink,
Pub. Date:
[2012]
Edition:
1st ed.
Language:
English
Description

The passions aroused by canine competition can inspire violent fantasies. But when a talented handler falls flat on her face during the obedience trials, Australian Shepherd lover Janet MacPhail can hardly believe someone would actually resort to murder.

As she takes care of her mother and falls for a hunky black Lab owner, the last thing Janet needs is to find out she's become a "person of interest." Nosing around for clues that might clear her good name, Janet and her friends--Australian Shepherd Jay, tabby cat Leo, and eccentric neighbor Goldie Sunshine--discover the hard way that killers don't like snoops. And it soon becomes apparent that the next victim might just be Janet herself.

Praise:

"Boneham packs a punch in her series debut."--RT Book Reviews

"A smart first mystery. Fans of Laurien Berenson or Susan Conant will especially enjoy this pet-centered mystery."--Booklist

"Boneham's debut will delight dog fanciers."--Kirkus Reviews

"[A] delightful debut. Right up there with the likes of Sue Grafton (Kinsey Millhone novels) and Janet Evanovich (Stephanie Plum novels), without the profanity. An intriguing whodunit."--The Australian Shepherd Journal

"With a sense of humor, a light touch of romance and a solid base of dog training experience under her collar, Sheila Boneham's first novel is worthy of honorable mention."--The Free Lance-Star

"Sheila Webster Boneham's mystery, Drop Dead on Recall,is drop dead good. The writing sparkles and the dog-obedience competition setting unleashes a surprising hotbed of motives and opportunities for multiple murder. Animal photographer Janet MacPhail makes a, yes, dogged amateur investigator, dealing with her mother's Alzheimer's and maybe a new midlife beau between finding a vicious killer. The dogs, Labs and Aussies, and cat, Leo, are of course key players in the proceedings. Five enthusiastic arfs."--Carole Nelsom Douglas, bestselling author of the Midnight Louie Mysteries

"Sheila Webster Boneham's delightful debut mystery combines a likeable sleuth, a keep-'em-guessing plot, and wonderfully authentic portrayals of the human and canine denizens of dogdom. First place with a perfect score!"--Susan Conant, author of Brute Strength and other novels in The Dog Lover Mysteries

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780738733067
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID df4c6699-fbbd-e8ea-e90b-dd4d66fd3708
Grouping Title drop dead on recall
Grouping Author boneham sheila webster
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-02-21 01:11:27AM
Last Indexed 2019-02-20 17:38:38PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Boneham, Sheila Webster, 1952-
author_display Boneham, Sheila Webster
available_at_gunnisonld Gunnison Public Library
detailed_location_gunnisonld Gunnison Fiction
display_description When a top-ranked competitor keels over at a dog obedience trial, photographer Janet Macphail is swept up in a maelstorm of suspicion, jealousy, cut-throat competition, death threats, pet-napping, and murder. She becomes a 'person of interest' to the police, and apparently to major hunk Tom Saunders as well. As if murder and the threat of impending romance aren't enough to drive her bonkers, Janet has to move her mother into a nursing home, and the old lady isn't going quietly. Janet finds solace in her Australian Shepherd, Jay, her tabby cat, Leo, and her eccentric neighbor, Goldie Sunshine. Then two other 'persons of interest' die, Jay's life is threatened, Leo disappears, and Janet's search for the truth threatens to leave her own life underdeveloped, for good.
format_category_gunnisonld Books
format_gunnisonld Book
id df4c6699-fbbd-e8ea-e90b-dd4d66fd3708
isbn 9780738733067
item_details ils:.b37211717|.i7413081x|Gunnison Fiction|Boneham|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||gugfi||
itype_gunnisonld Adult fiction
last_indexed 2019-02-21T00:38:38.761Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_gunnisonld Boneham
owning_library_gunnisonld Gunnison Public Library
owning_location_gunnisonld Gunnison Public Library
primary_isbn 9780738733067
publishDate 2012
record_details ils:.b37211717|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Midnight Ink,|[2012]|xi, 389 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_gunnisonld
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b37211717 .i7413081x On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 9999
series Animals in focus mysteries
series_with_volume Animals in focus mysteries|1
subject_facet Animals -- Fiction, Detective and mystery fiction, Fiction
title_display Drop dead on recall
title_full Drop dead on recall / Sheila Webster Boneham
title_short Drop dead on recall
topic_facet Animals