A gentleman's murder

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Inkshares,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
Named a 2018 Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards Finalist Now in development for television with Endeavor Content "Huang's impressive debut will delight fans of golden age detective fiction." _ Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Dorothy Sayers is alive and well and writing under the name of Christopher Huang." _Rhys Bowen, New York Times -bestselling author of The Tuscan Child "A must read for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry." _Daryl Maxwell, Los Angeles Public Library "Will please fans of both Agatha Christie and Gillian Flynn." _Sarah Nivala, Book Soup The year is 1924. The cobblestoned streets of St. James ring with jazz as Britain races forward into an age of peace and prosperity. London's back alleys, however, are filled with broken soldiers and still enshadowed by the lingering horrors of the Great War. Only a few years removed from the trenches of Flanders himself, Lieutenant Eric Peterkin has just been granted membership in the most prestigious soldiers-only club in London: The Britannia. But when a gentleman's wager ends with a member stabbed to death, the victim's last words echo in the Lieutenant_s head: that he would "soon right a great wrong from the past." Eric is certain that one of his fellow members is the murderer: but who? Captain Mortimer Wolfe, the soldier_s soldier thrice escaped from German custody? Second Lieutenant Oliver Saxon, the brilliant codebreaker? Or Captain Edward Aldershott, the steely club president whose Savile Row suits hide a frightening collision of mustard gas scars? Eric's investigation will draw him far from the marbled halls of the Britannia, to the shadowy remains of a dilapidated war hospital and the heroin dens of Limehouse. And as the facade of gentlemenhood cracks, Eric faces a Matryoshka doll of murder, vice, and secrets pointing not only to the officers of his own club but the very investigator assigned by Scotland Yard.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781942645955
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3a58627f-dbb5-a70d-c152-1480552a213c
Grouping Titlegentleman s murder
Grouping Authorhuang christopher
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-09-16 10:32:40AM
Last Indexed2019-12-05 08:09:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorHuang, Christopher,
author_displayHuang, Christopher
available_at_gunnisonldGunnison Public Library
detailed_location_gunnisonldGunnison Fiction
display_description"The year is 1924. The cobblestoned streets of St. James ring with jazz as Britain races forward into an age of peace and prosperity. London's back alleys, however, are filled with broken soldiers and still enshadowed by the lingering horrors of the Great War. Only a few years removed from the trenches of Flanders himself, Lieutenant Eric Peterkin has just been granted membership in the most prestigious soldiers-only club in London: The Britannia. But when a gentleman's wager ends with a member stabbed to death, the victim's last words echo in the Lieutenant's head: that he would "soon right a great wrong from the past." Eric is certain that one of his fellow members is the murderer: but who? Captain Mortimer Wolfe, the soldier's soldier thrice escaped from German custody? Second Lieutenant Oliver Saxon, the brilliant codebreaker? Or Captain Edward Aldershott, the steely club president whose Savile Row suits hide a frightening collision of mustard gas scars? Eric's investigation will draw him far from the marbled halls of the Britannia, to the shadowy remains of a dilapidated war hospital and the heroin dens of Limehouse. And as the facade of gentlemenhood cracks, Eric faces a Matryoshka doll of murder, vice, and secrets pointing not only to the officers of his own club but the very investigator assigned by Scotland Yard." 1924. As Britain races forward into an age of peace and prosperity, London's back alleys are filled with broken soldiers and the lingering horrors of the Great War. Lieutenant Eric Peterkin has just been granted membership in the most prestigious soldiers-only club in London: The Britannia. But when a gentleman's wager ends with a member stabbed to death, the victim's last words echo in the Lieutenant's head: that he would "soon right a great wrong from the past." Eric is certain that one of his fellow members is the murderer, but his investigation leads to the shadowy remains of a dilapidated war hospital and the heroin dens of Limehouse. -- adapted from publisher info.
format_category_gunnisonldBooks
format_gunnisonldBook
id3a58627f-dbb5-a70d-c152-1480552a213c
isbn9781942645955
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b5936726x.i12483789xGunnison FictionHuang1falsefalseOn Shelfgugfi
itype_gunnisonldJuvenile Biography
last_indexed2019-12-05T15:09:21.843Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_gunnisonldHuang
local_time_since_added_gunnisonldYear
owning_library_gunnisonldGunnison Public Library
owning_location_gunnisonldGunnison Public Library
primary_isbn9781942645955
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b5936726xBookBooksEnglishInkshares, 2018.331 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_gunnisonld
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b5936726x.i12483789xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facet
Boys -- Societies and clubs
Boys -- Societies and clubs -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
England
England -- Fiction
FICTION -- Mystery & Detective -- Amateur Sleuth
FICTION -- Mystery & Detective -- Historical
FICTION -- Thrillers -- Suspense
Fiction
Great Britain
Great Britain -- History -- George V, 1910-1936 -- Fiction
Great Britain -- Social life and customs -- 1918-1945 -- Fiction
Manners and customs
Murder -- Investigation
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Nineteen twenties -- Fiction
Private clubs -- Fiction
Private investigators
Private investigators -- England -- Fiction
Soldiers
Soldiers -- England -- Fiction
Soldiers -- Fiction
Veterans
World War (1914-1918)
World War, 1914-1918 -- Veterans -- Fiction
title_displayA gentleman's murder
title_fullA gentleman's murder / Christopher Huang
title_shortA gentleman's murder
topic_facetAmateur Sleuth
Boys
FICTION
Historical
History
Investigation
Manners and customs
Murder
Mystery & Detective
Nineteen twenties
Private clubs
Private investigators
Social life and customs
Societies and clubs
Soldiers
Suspense
Thrillers
Veterans
World War, 1914-1918